Makeup removal tips for dry skin!

For as long as I remember I have had eczema. This a very severe state of dry skin, it can become inflamed, red, itchy and even bleed if not taken care of with the right medication. As I have grown older my eczema has become a lot more mild, nowhere near as severe as it was when I was younger. I must ensure I keep my dry skin hydrated in order to prevent it reaching the severe end of eczema. One difficulty is wearing makeup as if not removed properly it can have a very bad effect on my skin and leave me with redness around my eyes giving me a not so easy base to deal with when applying makeup. I have regularly used 3 different products for a while now to remove my makeup whilst taking into account my sensitive, dry skin. These 3 products are THE skincare trio for anyone who has dry skin. Even if you don’t have eczema these products will definitely benefit your skin and add so much more hydration to your face!

IMG_9958.JPG

First of all is the makeup remover itself. Many of you may recall the hype around the Garnier micellar water right? Well not long after the release of the original micellar water they released a micellar oil-infused cleansing water. Oil is amazing for dry skin, it takes longer for the skin to soak up compared to an average moisturizer so it provides so much more hydration and nutrients to the skin. With the original micellar water I did feel it dried my skin out after use whereas with the oil infused one this is not the case, it is so hydrating and so much more gentle for sensitive skin! It does say on the bottle that it is aimed at “dry and sensitive skin” and claims to “Remove even waterproof make-up + cleanses + Nourishes” well let me tell you, it certainly does what it says on the bottle! It breaks down my waterproof makeup whilst cleansing and nourishing my skin. I am so glad Garnier released this as I had a love hate relationship with the original micellar water but the oil infused one is definitely a holy grail now and it has lasted me 2 months so far, you get so much use out of one bottle, 100% worth every penny, it is so affordable!

img_0018

Number 2, moisturizer! Although the oil-infused micellar water hydrates my skin I still need to moisturise to maintain the hydration with a moisturizer. For the past 4 years I have used no other than that Aveeno moisturizer. I cannot stress enough how perfect this moisturizer is! It is formulated with Colloidal Oatmeal to actively moisturise dry and sensitive skin. It has a nice thick consistency, not the average thin and runny moisturizer, I am not a fan of those! It feels cool and refreshing on the face, instantly calming any irritation. This moisturizer also contains Glycerin, an essential ingredient in makeup primers to ensure longevity. This means moisturising with this cream before applying makeup will contribute to your makeup lasting all day! Running out of primer isn’t a worry when using this moisturizer and when you do have primer it just strengthens the base of your makeup. I could go on forever about how amazing this primer is but just trust me when I say you need it!!!

img_0031

Last but not least, the final product to keep your skin hydrated after removing your makeup! I always do this before I go to bed, well when I can remember to… After removing the makeup with micellar water and moisturising my face I pour a fair amount or Argan oil into my hand, Moroccan Argan oil is my favourite.I picked this one up when I went on holiday there but it’s not too difficult to get hold of in the UK. I rub both palms together slowly so the oil doesn’t go everywhere and the massage it into my face leaving a thin, oily layer on my face. It may leave you looking greasy af but you’ll have the skin of a new born baby when you wake up! Whenever I do this I wake up with fresh, soft, rejuvenated skin ready for a new application of makeup! If I maintain this for at least 3 days I notice a huge difference in the condition of my skin, it’s healthier, softer and glowing! This last step is essential if you want to maintain hydrated skin.

And there we have it! My 3 top tips for removing makeup when you have dry skin and how to maintain the hydration in your skin. I hope these tips help you out if you have been struggling with ways to deal with dry skin.

Let me know in the comments if you try any of these products and how they work for you!

Desire4Beauty

4 thoughts on “Makeup removal tips for dry skin!

Leave a Reply

