Am I dreaming too big?

Time for something I haven’t done in a while, a non beauty related, personal, lifestyle post. I am reaching the end of my college life, wow how college flies by, just 2 years of your life, a very important 24 months. I have reached the point now where I am being asked questions I have been dreading for the past few years. Do you want to go to university? Do you want to do an apprenticeship? What is your career goal? What do you want to do when you leave college? Honestly, I do not know… but then again, I do.

My dream career, my most passionate pathway, a makeup artist. Ever since I was young my career goal has always changed. From an author to a doctor to a journalist to a clinical psychologist, mental health nurse or a counsellor. I have never been as certain about any of them as I have with wanting to be a makeup artist. I would love to make a career out of blogging but I currently can’t depend on it being successful as it is very difficult to get to a stage with a reasonable income so I take my love for makeup and passion for beauty and put it into dreaming of becoming a makeup artist.

However, one question I ask myself is, am I dreaming too big?

There are so many makeup artists ‘out there’ now, that making myself stand out is a challenge but one I am willing to accept. My problem is the stability of the career, expenses such as courses or kits, I am only a 17 year old with a part time job and days away from having to start paying tax… Fair enough, there is such thing as being self-taught which so far I am, there is still a lot I have to learn and a lot more practice I have to make but will I be successful?

Maybe it’s me. I’ve never been a huge optimist, it could just be my typical self doubt. I have such a passion for makeup artistry I won’t give up until I make it but then there is the questions at college about where I want to go when I leave, that’s only half a year away now… What do I do in the mean time?

I have looked into apprenticeships more specifically social media & digital marketing apprenticeships which really appeal to me because it is so similar to what I currently do with my blog and all the skills I will pick up will hugely benefit me as a blogger. It sounds so much more secure and stable than chancing it as an MUA but again there is my love and passion over powering my doubt and temptation towards the easier option. I feel as though I could shout to the world about how much I yearn to become a makeup artist, I’d love to have that title but do I deserve it?

I have applied at various makeup counters but I think the little experience I have over powers my passion, dedication and desire to learn which makes me less likely to be behind a makeup counter in the foreseeable future. I’ve reached the point now where I am not entirely sure where this blog post is going but I felt I needed to share this with my audience, I can’t be the only person in this position, deciding whether to go with my head or my heart.

I will never give up on my dream of becoming a makeup artist regardless of the occasional doubts as to whether I will be successful or not, life is about learning and how can I learn if I don’t take risks. In complete honesty, I am almost 18 but I’m not sure where I am going. This is definitely normal for most people at this age but it isn’t a very helpful situation to be in. I wish I knew what I wanted to do…

For anyone who reads this blog post, any advice is very much appreciated. Especially from makeup artists, how did you build up your kit? where did you begin? did you have similar thought at the start?

I hope this post gives others out there in a similar situation something to relate to. everything will come together in the end.

Difficult roads lead to beautiful destinations.

Desire4beauty

4 thoughts on “Am I dreaming too big?

  1. I Blog A Little Bit Of Everything says:

    Never give up on your dreams! Do what you love and love what you do! ❤️💖💜💙 Follow your heart, but bare in mind what your head is telling you. There really is no point doing something you aren’t passionate about. FOLLOW YOUR DREAMS! A dream is a wish your heart makes! ✨
    Good luck in whatever you decide! 😊

    xoxo ❤

    Like

  2. sofiacollins says:

    It can be surprising how far perseverance and passion can get you. Keep applying to makeup counters or places like Sephora where you can do makeup on clients to get more experience, do whatever you can to keep pursuing this dream! And you totally deserve to follow your dreams! I believe in your passion, go for it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

